Global Change - Science of Sustainability

Fall Schedule

Week Date Day Topic Instructor
1 6-Sep Wed Introduction and Goals, Canvas Setup  Kling/Badgley
  8-Sep Fri The Science of Sustainability Kling
NO Lab 6-8 Sep   NO LAB  
2 11-Sep Mon Critical Thinking in the Age of Fake News Kling
  13-Sep Wed The Big Bang and Fundamental Laws Kling
  15-Sep Fri The Age and Evolution of Earth Kling
Lab - Disc 11-15 Sep   "Challenges We Face" -  Discussion and Intro to Term Presentations  
3 18-Sep Mon Planetary Energy Balance Kling
  20-Sep Wed Plate Tectonics Kling
  22-Sep Fri Earth's Climate in Deep Time Kling
Lab 18-22 Sep   Earth's Energy Balance Model  
4 25-Sep Mon Gaia - How Life Controls Earth's Climate Kling
  27-Sep Wed Greenhouse Gases and Climate Kling
  29-Sep Fri Aerosols, Radiative Forcing, and Climate Kling
Lab 25-29 Sep   Introduction to Stella - Daisy World  
5 2-Oct Mon The Fossil Record of Lineages and Ecosystems Badgley
  4-Oct Wed Processes of Evolution:  Natural Selection Badgley
  6-Oct Fri Processes of Evolution:  Speciation Badgley
Lab 2-6 Oct   Natural Selection - The Case of the Peppered Moth   
  9-Oct Mon Evidence for Evolution in Today's World Badgley
6 11-Oct Wed HOURLY EXAM #1 (material through 9 Oct) Kling/Badgley
  13-Oct Fri Ecological Communities: Networks of Interacting Species Badgley
Lab 9-13 Oct   Ecological Footprint Activity and Assignment  
7 16-Oct Mon Fall Study Break (No Class)  
  18-Oct Wed Trophic Links: Predation and Parasitism Badgley
  20-Oct Fri Competition for Resources Badgley
Lab-home 16-20 Oct   Fall Break, No Labs Meet -- Science and the Media (Take home assignment)  
8 23-Oct Mon Ecosystems Kling
  25-Oct Wed Microbes: Transformers of Matter and Materials Kling
  27-Oct Fri The Flow of Energy – Primary Production and Higher Trophic Levels Kling
Lab 23-27 Oct   Group Project Work  
9 30-Oct Mon
Climate Change and the Ice Ages
Kling
  1-Nov Wed
The Blue Planet: El Nino, the Ocean Conveyor Belt, and Climate Change
Kling
  3-Nov Fri
Climate Models and Predictions for the Future
Kling
Lab 30Oct-3Nov   Ice Ages -- Analysis of Vostok Ice Core Data  
10 6-Nov Mon
Sustainability and the Global Carbon Cycle
Kling
  8-Nov Wed
Climate Change in the Great Lakes Region
Kling
  10-Nov Fri Pollutants, Acid Rain, and Sustainability Kling
Lab 6-10 Nov  
The Global Carbon Cycle
 
11 13-Nov Mon HOURLY EXAM #2 (material through 10 Nov) Badgley/Kling
  15-Nov Wed The Tropical Rain Forest Kling
  17-Nov Fri
The Impacts of Climate Change on the Water Cycle
Kling
Lab 13-17 Nov  
Group Project Work
 
12 20-Nov Mon
Using Science to Solve Problems: The Case of the Killer Lakes of Cameroon
Kling
  22-Nov Wed No Class - no labs this week  
  24-Nov Fri Thanksgiving Break (No Classes from 23-26 Nov), No labs this week  
Lab 20-24 Nov  
Thanksgiving break, No Labs Meet 
 
13 27-Nov Mon
The Impacts of Climate Change on Sea level
Kling
  29-Nov Wed
The Impacts of Climate Change on Sustainability
Kling
  1-Dec Fri
The Value of Nature's Services
Badgley
Lab 27Nov-1Dec  
Climate and Atmosphere - Long-term Climate Regulation
 
14 4-Dec Mon
The Anthropocene:  A Transformed Earth
Badgley
  6-Dec Wed
Human Ecology
Badgley
  8-Dec Fri
The Ecological Footprint of Food and Agriculture
Badgley
Lab 4-8 Dec   Student Presentations - rooms TBA  
15 11-Dec Mon Course Summary and Review Kling/Badgley
  11-Dec Mon Review for Final Exam, 5 - 6 pm  Kling/Badgley
 
  15-Dec Fri FINAL EXAM 1:30-3:30 (cumulative)  
 
Last updated:
September 2017