Global Change - Science of Sustainability

Fall Schedule

Week Date Day Topic Instructor
1 7-Sep Wed Introduction and Goals.  All
  9-Sep Fri Roadmap and Sustainability (Canvas setup) Kling
NO Lab 7-9 Sep   NO LAB  
2 12-Sep Mon The Big Bang and Fundamental Laws Gleason
  14-Sep Wed The Evolution of our Solar System Gleason
  16-Sep Fri The Age and Evolution of Earth Gleason
Lab - Disc 12-16 Sep   "Challenges We Face" -  Discussion and Intro to Term Presentations  
3 19-Sep Mon Planetary Energy Balance Gleason
  21-Sep Wed Plate Tectonics Gleason
  23-Sep Fri Earth's Climate in Deep Time Gleason
Lab 19-23 Sep   Earth's Energy Balance Model  
4 26-Sep Mon The Frozen Planet Gleason
  28-Sep Wed Greenhouse Gases and Climate Gleason
  30-Sep Fri Aerosols, Land-use Change, and Climate Gleason
Lab 26-30 Sep   Introduction to Stella - Daisy World  
5 3-Oct Mon The Fossil Record of Lineages and Ecosystems Badgley
  5-Oct Wed Processes of Evolution:  Natural Selection Badgley
  7-Oct Fri Processes of Evolution:  Speciation Badgley
Lab 3-7 Oct   Natural Selection - The Case of the Peppered Moth   
  10-Oct Mon Evidence for Evolution in Today's World Badgley
6 12-Oct Wed HOURLY EXAM #1 (material through 10 Oct) Gleason/Badgley
  14-Oct Fri Ecological Communities: Networks of Interacting Species Badgley
Lab 10-14 Oct   Ecological Footprint Activity and Assignment  
7 17-Oct Mon Fall Study Break (No Class)  
  19-Oct Wed Trophic Links: Predation and Parasitism Badgley
  21-Oct Fri Competition for Resources Badgley
Lab-home 17-21 Oct   Fall Break, No Labs Meet -- Science and the Media (Take home assignment)  
8 24-Oct Mon Diversity over Space and Time Badgley
  26-Oct Wed Ecosystems Kling
  28-Oct Fri Microbes: Transformers of Matter and Materials Kling
Lab 24-28 Oct   Group Project Work  
9 31-Oct Mon
The Flow of Energy – Primary Production and Higher Trophic Levels
  2-Nov Wed
Climate Change and the Ice Ages
  4-Nov Fri
The Blue Planet: El Nino, the Ocean Conveyor Belt, and Climate Change
Lab 31Oct-4Nov   Ice Ages -- Analysis of Vostok Ice Core Data  
10 7-Nov Mon
Climate Models and Predictions for the Future
  9-Nov Wed
Sustainability and the Global Carbon Cycle
  11-Nov Fri
Climate Change in the Great Lakes Region
Lab 7-11 Nov  
The Global Carbon Cycle
11 14-Nov Mon HOURLY EXAM #2 (material through 11 Nov) Badgley/Kling
  16-Nov Wed Pollutants, Acid Rain, and Systems Thinking Kling
  18-Nov Fri
The Tropical Rain Forest
Lab 14-18 Nov  
Group Project Work
12 21-Nov Mon
Using Science to Solve Problems: The Case of the Killer Lakes of Cameroon
  23-Nov Wed No Class  
  25-Nov Fri Thanksgiving Break (No Classes from 26-28 Nov)  
Lab 21-25 Nov  
Thanksgiving break, No Labs Meet 
13 28-Nov Mon
The Impacts of Climate Change on Sea level
  30-Nov Wed
The Impacts of Climate Change on Sustainability
  2-Dec Fri
The Impacts of Climate Change on the Water Cycle
Lab 28Nov-2Dec  
Climate and Atmosphere - Long-term Climate Regulation
14 5-Dec Mon
The Value of Nature's Services
  7-Dec Wed
The Anthropocene:  A Transformed Earth
  9-Dec Fri
Human Ecology
Lab 5-9 Dec   Student Presentations - rooms TBA  
15 12-Dec Mon The Ecological Footprint of Food and Agriculture Badgley
  12-Dec Mon Review for Final Exam, 5 - 6 pm  All
  15-Dec Thurs FINAL EXAM 1:30-3:30 (cumulative)  
Last updated:
August 2016