Global Change - The Science of Sustainability

Schedule

Week Date Day Topic Instructor
1 30-Aug Mon Introduction and Goals, Canvas Setup  Kling/Badgley
  1-Sep Wed The Anthropocene:  A Transformed Earth Badgley
  3-Sep Fri The Big Bang and Fundamental Laws Kling
Lab-Disc Week 1   "Challenges We Face" -  Discussion and Intro to Term Presentations  
2 6-Sep Mon    Labor Day (No Class; Take-home lab this week)  
  8-Sep Wed The Age and Evolution of the Earth Kling
  10-Sep Fri Planetary Energy Balance Kling
Lab-Read Week 2   Take-Home reading (no in-class labs, Labor Day week)  
3 13-Sep Mon Plate Tectonics Kling
  15-Sep Wed Earth's Climate in Deep Time Kling
  17-Sep Fri Gaia - Does Life Regulate Earth's Atmosphere? Kling
Lab Week 3   Earth's Energy Balance Model  
4 20-Sep Mon Greenhouse Gases and Climate Kling
  22-Sep Wed Aerosols, Radiative Forcing, and Climate Kling
  24-Sep Fri The Fossil Record of Lineages and Ecosystems Badgley
Lab Week 4   Introduction to Stella - Daisy World  
5 27-Sep Mon Processes of Evolution:  Natural Selection Badgley
  29-Sep Wed Processes of Evolution:  Speciation Badgley
1-Oct Fri Evidence for Evolution in Today's World Badgley
Lab Week 5   Natural Selection - The Case of the Peppered Moth  
6 4-Oct Mon MID-TERM EXAM #1 (take-home, covers material through 1 Oct) Kling/Badgley
6-Oct Wed
The Science of Sustainability
Kling
  8-Oct Fri Critical Thinking in the Age of Fake News Kling
Lab Week 6   Ecological Footprint Activity and Assignment  
7 11-Oct Mon Ecological Communities: Networks of Interacting Species Badgley
  13-Oct Wed Trophic Links: Predation and Parasitism Badgley
  15-Oct Fri Competition for Resources Badgley
Lab Week 7   Science and the Media - Fake News Exposed  
8 18-Oct Mon  Fall Study Break (No Class), No labs meet     
  20-Oct Wed Ecosystems Kling
  22-Oct Fri Microbes: Transformers of Matter and Materials Kling
Lab   Week 8   Fall Study Break, No Labs Meet  
9 25-Oct Mon The Flow of Energy from Primary Production to Higher Trophic Levels Kling
  27-Oct Wed Climate Change and the Ice Ages Kling
  29-Oct Fri The Blue Planet: El Nino, the Ocean Conveyor Belt, and Climate Change Kling
Lab Week 9   Group Project Work  
10 1-Nov Mon Climate Models and Predictions for the Future Kling
  3-Nov Wed Sustainability and the Global Carbon Cycle Kling
  5-Nov Fri Climate Change in the Great Lakes Region Kling
Lab Week 10   Ice Ages - Analysis of Vostok Ice Core Data  
11 8-Nov Mon MID-TERM EXAM #2 (take-home, covers material through 5 Nov) Kling/Badgley
  10-Nov Wed Pollutants, Acid Rain, and Sustainability Kling
  12-Nov Fri The Tropical Rainforest Kling
Lab Week 11   The Global Carbon Cycle  
12 15-Nov Mon The Impacts of Climate Change on the Water Cycle Kling
  17-Nov Wed Sea Level Rise and Dangerous Climate Kling
  19-Nov Fri Using Science to Solve Problems: The Case of the Killer Lakes of Cameroon Kling 
Lab Week 12   Climate and Atmosphere - Long-term Climate Regulation  
13 22-Nov Mon    Thanksgiving Break -  No Class from 22-26 Nov.  No labs this week     
  24-Nov Wed    Thanksgiving Break - No Class from 22-26 Nov.  No labs this week   
  26-Nov Fri    Thanksgiving Break - No Class from 22-26 Nov.  No labs this week     
Lab Week 13   Thanksgiving break, No Labs Meet  
14 29-Nov Mon  The Value of Nature's Services Badgley
  1-Dec Wed  Diversity over Space and Time Badgley
  3-Dec Fri  Human Ecology Badgley
Lab Week 14   Group Project Work  
15 6-Dec Mon The Ecological Footprint of Food and Agriculture Badgley
8-Dec Wed Summary and Review   Kling/Badgley
  10-Dec Fri Summary and Review Kling/Badgley
Lab Week 15   Student Presentations of Final Projects  
 
  16-17 Dec Th-Fr FINAL EXAM Take-home starts 8 am Thursday, Due 8 am Friday  
 
Last updated:
August 2021